Testimonials



    
Contents
Testimonials
Registration Policies
Rules & Regulations
Exam Schedule &
Important Dates
Exam Registration
Exam Fees
Funding Support
Study Texts
Student Services
Frequently Asked Questions
 
 
Home  >  Examinations >  Testimonials
 

Diploma in General Insurance and Risk Management (DGIRM) - Self-Study

Testimonials

"When I first joined MSIG in 2008, I had mainly a legal background with a basic knowledge of insurance operations. The ADGIRM course enabled me to quickly learn and apply many key considerations which had to be taken into account when making decisions in an insurance company. It also exposed me to areas such as underwriting and insurance product design - areas which were not in my immediate job scope, but which would nevertheless be crucial in allowing me to effectively carry out my duties, and further, to grow and develop within my company.

I was also very impressed by the assistance rendered by Mr Chan Tuck Wah and the rest of the staff of SCI. They were always prompt and helpful in responding to my numerous queries. Equally important was the fact that they were receptive to comments and suggestions as to how the course could be improved, something which I thought was very important to the success of the programme.

Last but not least, the programme provided me with a fast-track towards obtaining the prestigious ACII designation from the CII, something which I expect to have successfully applied for by January 2011.

Once again, I am very grateful that SCI came up with such a useful programme. I would strongly advise my fellow insurance professionals who are interested in ultimately obtaining the ACII designation, or who simply wish to further their knowledge and understanding of the insurance industry, to take this course."

Yeo Lih Wei, LLB, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM), ACII
Legal Counsel
Claims
MSIG Insurance (Singapore) Pte Ltd

27 September 2010

Note: Congratulations go to Mr Yeo Lih Wei for being the first person who successfully achieved the SCI Advanced Diploma in General Insurance and Risk Management (ADGIRM) qualification in April 2010. He obtained his ACII qualification on 8 February 2011.


"I am an IT Consultant handling IT Projects for insurance companies, and my role involves IT System Implementation and Project Management. In my role, it is very crucial to understand insurance, requirements of customers, and to provide appropriate solutions to them.

Since I am working with customers from insurance companies, I need to understand the practical aspects of their company operations. The DGIRM / ADGIRM Programme has enabled me to understand the insurance practices better. It has given me a very good insight in insurance underwriting and claims practices, among others. This Programme has also given me a good overview of an insurance company's operations and its processes. These are crucial and helpful to my role, ensuring that I understand them better. Successful completion of this localised DGRIM / ADGIRM Programme, which is accredited by The Chartered Insurance Institute in United Kingdom, will also help me to fast track in the attainment of the ACII qualification in which I am pursuing.

I would also like to thank Mr Chan Tuck Wah, Mr Desmond Lam and staff members of SCI for their prompt responses to my queries in the past."

Venkatachary Kaushik, MBA, PMP, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM)
Senior Consultant
First Apex (An NTT Data Group Company)

26 December 2010

Note: Congratulations go to Mr Venkatachary Kaushik who successfully achieved the SCI ADGIRM qualification in September 2010.


"The DGIRM / ADGIRM Programme has provided me with a great overview of the Singapore general insurance industry, as well as the relevant insurance principles that are useful to my daily work. The study textbooks in local context were helpful in my comprehension of the materials, and I enjoyed throughout the learning path. I would like to thank Mr Chan Tuck Wah and Mr Desmond Lam for their kind assistance and prompt attention to my enquiries.

With the achievement of the ADGIRM, I can now continue to pursue the CII papers easily, as SCI will provide all the necessary support. Another good point about this Programme is that it is recognised by CII and that relevant credit points are awarded upon approval by CII.

I hope more people will benefit from this excellent Programme, and I am looking forward to attending other relevant short courses and seminars organised by SCI."

Mavis Chia Lee Choo, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM)
Executive, Partners & Direct
AXA Insurance Singapore Pte Ltd

28 December 2010

Note: Congratulations go to Ms Mavis Chia who successfully achieved the SCI ADGIRM qualification in September 2010.


"The Diploma / Advanced Diploma in General Insurance and Risk Management (DGIRM / ADGIRM) Programme of the Singapore College of Insurance (SCI) covers all the classes of general insurance. Irrespective of the knowledge that one can gather on the job, I would opine that anyone pursuing a career in insurance should take up the examinations of this Programme, so as to have a better perspective and to be recognised by a professional body. This Programme should only improve one's efficiency at work.

The standards set by SCI have been recognised by The Chartered Insurance Institute (CII), United Kingdom. The CII grants credits to this SCI DGIRM / ADGIRM Programme being enroute to achieving the coveted Chartered Insurer title.

I am happy that I have taken this Programme, and I would also like to express my thanks to Mr Chan Tuck Wah for his assistance."

Sujatha Yegnanarayanan, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM)
Assistant Manager, Claims
First Capital Insurance Limited

31 December 2010

Note: Congratulations go to Ms Sujatha Yegnanarayanan who successfully achieved the SCI ADGIRM qualification in September 2010.

NB: DGIRM / ADGIRM examinations started on 7 October 2008.


"I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to SCI's dedicated staff, like Mr Chan Tuck Wah, who has been very professional and helpful in providing me very useful advice on how to go about taking the ADGRIM qualification and applying for ACII accreditation.

I am able to attain this ACII designation in only one year's time, thanks to SCI's structured and systematic ADGIRM course. I took all the papers required for DGIRM (not in particular orders), except for only one paper which I did not take, because I have achieved the required 290 credits for the ACII qualification of The Chartered Insurance Institute (CII), United Kingdom. I took the SCI exams and CII exams concurrently. It was tough and required strict discipline and perseverance, but it was all worth the effort. Thanks to SCI and my current employer's support, I was able to attain four distinctions from the SCI's examinations.

The ADGIRM has definitely helped in accelerating my professional development in the general insurance industry. The materials such as the textbooks are very informative, up-to-date and relevant. I am very glad that I have opted for the SCI's ADGIRM path, because it has provided me with holistic learning and in-depth understanding of insurance practice, both in terms of technical skills and management skills.

The CII learning statements has confirmed that I have fulfilled the ACII requirement, and the letter dated 22 July 2011 from the CII has confirmed that I can use the designatory letters, ACII. The learning does not stop here, I will continue this professional development to progress to the CII Fellowship level, and I believe that SCI will continue to play an important role in supporting me through this programme.

Last but not least, thank you once again for all your help and support. "

Mandy Phan Yin Yee, Dip (Law), BBA (Hons), Dip SCI (GI & RM), ACII
Reinsurance Executive
Asia Reinsurance Brokers Pte Ltd

1 August 2011

Note: Congratulations go to Ms Mandy Phan who successfully achieved the SCI DGIRM qualification in April 2011 and ACII qualification in July 2011.


"My job requires me to manage all facets of insurance for my company and its subsidiaries in the Asia-Pacific region. Being a multinational corporation, the policies in place span the entire spectrum of insurance. The DGIRM / ADGIRM Programme has provided me with a broad and deep understanding across the different classes of insurance, and this knowledge has proven invaluable during the course of my work.

I would like to express my sincere thanks to all the SCI's staff members who entertained my queries, and to Mr Chan Tuck Wah in particular for his support and encouragement. The Programme has proven to be a very rewarding experience. I would highly recommend this Programme to any insurance professionals, as they will find it highly beneficial to both their personal and career developments in the insurance industry."

Justin Yeo, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM)
Manager
Toshiba Insurance Service Asia Pte Ltd

5 August 2011

Note: Congratulations go to Mr Justin Yeo who successfully achieved the SCI ADGIRM qualification in April 2011.


"Taking the SCI DGRIM / ADGIRM Programme was my stepping stone for pursuing the ACII qualification. I am glad that I have chosen this path as the DGIRM / ADGRIM turns out to be an excellent, high standard programme that I would not want to miss.

This Programme provides technical knowledge for underwriting, claims and marketing in very practical approach. It also gives great overview of the Singapore general insurance environment. It definitely equips and gives a competitive edge for those advancing their career to middle management level.

With dedicated staff of SCI, I am looking forward to our very own industrial network support for this Programme. I am confident that this Programme will continue to develop and well received internationally."

Phyllis Wong Siew Mee, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM)
Senior Executive
Agency Servicing
Nipponkoa Insurance Co Ltd
Singapore Branch

18 November 2011

Note: Congratulations go to Ms Phyllis who successfully achieved the SCI ADGIRM qualification in October 2011.


"Before I joined in the insurance industry at the end of year 2009, I was an Electrical & Mechanical Engineer in the laser industry. Obviously, there was a big difference between these two industries. The SCI DGIRM / ADGIRM Programme (self-study) provided me with a good chance to learn and enhance my insurance knowledge from the very beginning. It also gave me a broad view on the entire insurance industry from underwriting to claims management, as well as from general insurance company operations to legal aspect aspects of insurance. It has been a great help to my career development with my current employer, Asia Capital Reinsurance Group Pte Ltd. As a Property, Engineering & Energy Underwriter, I need to have substantial insurance knowledge to assess the risks and apply proper terms and conditions. The SCI DGIRM / ADGIRM Programme has certainly met my needs.

In addition, with my Chinese education background, I faced some difficulties during my study. Thanks to the great help and support from Mr Chan Tuck Wah and the team in SCI, I sat and passed all the examinations. They always provided prompt and useful comments in responding to my various queries, as well as encouragement. I really appreciate their warm-hearted assistance.

Another important aspect to mention is that this Programme provides a fast track to obtain the ACII qualification. I have intensely recommended this Programme to my colleagues who are willing to get the ACII qualification. Under the revised structure of the DGIRM / ADGRIM Programme, I am sure that it will be of benefit and value to the students. I sincerely wish SCI every success."

Edmond Quan, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM)
Assistant Underwriter
Property, Energy & Engineering
Facultative
Asia Capital Reinsurance Group Pte Ltd

1 February 2012

Note: Congratulations go to Mr Edmond Quan who successfully achieved the SCI ADGIRM qualification in September 2011.


I was a fresh graduate of the Diploma of Banking & Financial Services in the year of 2007. I started working as a Customer Service Representative in the insurance industry. After three years of working experience, I was promoted to Assistance Underwriter.

In June 2008, the Singapore College of Insurance (SCI) launched the Diploma / Advanced Diploma in General Insurance and Risk Management (DGIRM / ADGIRM) Programme (self-study programme) accredited by The Chartered Insurance Institute (CII) in the United Kingdom. I was delighted that the qualifications awarded by this Programme could accelerate my attainment of the ACII designation. Though it was tough juggling between work and study, all it required was strict discipline, motivation and perseverance. However, it was worth the effort as it had equipped me with the insightful knowledge on better understanding of the overview of the insurance operations, covering proposal underwriting, policy servicing, claims handling, and others relevant to my work.

I would ike to take this opportunity to thank Mr Chan Tuck Wah, Senior Manager, SCI, for his kind assistance and continued encouragement during the pursuit of my study of the DGIRM / ADGIRM Programme since April 2009.

Ho Wei Ling, Dip in Banking & Financial Services, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM)
Assistant Underwriter, Property & Casualty
Tenet Insurance Company Ltd

15 July 2012

Note: Congratulations go to Ms Ho Wei Ling who successfully achieved the SCI ADGIRM qualification in April 2012. She is currently pursuing her ACII qualification.


I started working in Singapore insurance industry in 2010, after having work experience from the India Insurance sector.

I was new to the specific local insurance products and general practices of the insurance industry in Singapore. My entire guidance came from the textbooks of the Singapore College of Insurance (SCI).

After clearing the initial examinations of BCP, PGI, ComGI and HI as mandatory requirements, I got in touch with Mr Chan Tuck Wah of the SCI to guide me further on my professional education advancement. Under his mentorship, I cleared the Advanced Diploma in General Insurance and Risk Management (ADGIRM) from the SCI in 2011, and subsequently achieved the ACII qualification from The Chartered Insurance Institute (CII), United Kingdom, in 2013. Clearing these examination papers at such fast pace along with a full-time job was only possible owing to much encouragement and support from Mr Chan and his colleagues at the SCI. Also, I could apply my technical knowledge learnt through the textbooks during my job. I realised that I was able to achieve the desired outcome for the various tasks at my job owing to my upgraded technical know-how.

I am highly indebted to the SCI for guiding me on my professional growth path and having continued engagement with professionals like me, to contribute back to the growing demands of Singapore Insurance Industry.

Vaibhavi Mehta, Adv Dip SCI (GI & RM), ACII
Assistant Vice President
AXIS Specialty Ltd

NB: DGIRM / ADGIRM examinations started on 7 October 2008.

 
  Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy   © 2005 Singapore College of Insurance Limited (SCI). All Rights Reserved by SCI.